ARC Book Review: This Body Won’t Break: Part 1 (The O-Negative Series)

51DQGfcKpZLTitle: This Body Won’t Break: Part 1 (The O-Negative Series)

Author: Lea McKee

Pages: 109

Genre: Teen & Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy

Amazon

I saw this author on Inkitt a couple months ago, but never got around to reading her story. I had it bookmarked, but had a TBR list. So I grabbed a sample, liked it, and requested an eARC through her newsletter. But purchased the ebook on release day. I look forward to the next two books. So much so that I wanted to see book one on my digital bookshelf.


 

5star

My Rating: 5 Lit Fireflies

I remember telling myself that I will put the book down when I start to feel tired or bored. Those moments never came, so I was forced to limit my reading with chapters. Lea McKee did a great job at keeping each chapter balanced enough to keep the reader engaged in the next. I typically don’t like to compare one book to another, but while I was reading I couldn’t help but notice this book gave the same kind of excitement the first book in Divergent did, when I was reading it. Those constant imaginative thoughts that go through your head. Something about that dystopian, messed up world, with a lead female character.

Though this lead female character seems like an average Joe to me… and ironically… her name is Joanna. A simple girl who has a love for reading books. Living in New Terra Alliance for most of her life, Joanna is eagerly awaiting her release, since she has now reached the age of eighteen. There will be a handful of characters introduced, none of which I disliked. Though some staff within the facility have yet to show their true faces. Girls are going to swoon over that Knox guy. I didn’t care much for him, being a guy myself. But right away, Cash grew on me. Anyone with instincts such as his is good to have around. He kind of reminds me of a mouse. As much as people hate mice, you have to admit, they know how to survive.

This series has a total of three books, the first one with around 25k words. Descriptions were on point, and characters were memorable. Even the less important ones. I ended up wanting to cheer on all the teens, even if they weren’t introduced. This is the type of book I ended up wishing I was there, to make some kind of history. Though… not one of these teens. Well, read and you’ll know why.

It was written with such interest, that I had wished the book was a bit longer. It has so much room in the story line to grow, but we will have to wait until book two and three to find out. Lea McKee is one of those new authors to keep an eye on. I do hope to see her name more often in the future. I can see many YA fans out there enjoying this read.

11 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: This Body Won’t Break: Part 1 (The O-Negative Series)

  1. That’s interesting that the series is made up of novellas. It sounds good, but I wonder if the books might have been combined. I tend to enjoy longer books that I can really dive into. Your review intrigued me. 🙂

    BTW – I have no idea why WP dropped you from my follows, Rob. I was wondering why you hadn’t posted in so long. Sorry! The problem has been corrected. I have some catching up to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey! Oh I wonder how that happened. WordPress tends to bug out on me at times, haha. Well I’ve also been gone for a month because of health reasons. It’s all good now for the most part! Also, yeah I have been wondering why some authors don’t combine their books as well. My guess is its easier to start out that way, and gain a following. Rather just just one book. I have found that I’m more drawn to books that are around to 100 pages, but then I end up saying I wish the book was longer, ahaha. A never ending cycle I have, arguing with myself 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

